Legacy Club (Memoirs of a Vacation 2)

I almost took a bus to Toledo.  Thank the God of my understanding that I didn’t.  Hehe, just a little NA humor there.  I decided to take the Amtrak and leave from Chicago’s Union Station.  Upon checking in, I had to ask for the comfort pack which includes a blanket, head pillow, ear plugs and an eye mask.  I’ll probably use none of the above but I’m a sucker for an upgrade.  Dolce70615 on Instagram has a minute by minute, play by play photo diary of my trip.  I’m also a sucker for a VIP upgrade.  I get to wait in the Legacy Lounge rather then sit on the long wooden benches in the loud and echo crazy Great Hall.  Free WIFI, snacks, TV, comfort seating and charging stations.  I’m living the dream, and they just made an extra 20 bucks.  I got to tour the old barber shop that used to be part of this VIP waiting room in the 1930’s-1960’s.  I think there is something nostalgic and magical about taking the train.  Maybe its my complimentary SANPELLEGRINO that’s doing the talking,  maybe its just this VIP lounge with all of its historic restoration reminding me of America’s past, when this was the sole way to travel.  No matter what it is, I’ll take it.  I’m ready to go to Toledo.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

